Committees

  • Colonial India, 1945

    After three centuries of British control, Colonial India faces issues of local governance, intergroup conflict, and growing movements for independence.

    Background Guide

    Committees:

    British Leaders
    Contact: british_leaders@browncrisis.org
    Indian Leaders
    Contact: indian_leaders@browncrisis.org
  • The Roman Question, 1862

    “The Roman question was the stone tied to Napoleon’s feet--that dragged him into the abyss. He never forgot, even in August 1870, a month before Sedan, that he was a sovereign of a Catholic country, that he had been made Emperor, and was supported by the votes of the Conservatives and the influence of the clergy; and that it was his supreme duty not to abandon the Pontiff” - Raffaele De Cesare

    Background Guide

    Committees:

    Italian Cabinet
    Contact: italian_cabinet@browncrisis.org
    Napoleonic Cabinet
    Contact: napoleonic_cabinet@browncrisis.org
  • Lithuania 1989

    Tensions are high in the international community as the Soviet Union’s power is increasingly challenged, and ideals of democratization have spread to nearly every corner of the globe. Following the famous Baltic Way protests in Eastern Europe, the three Baltic States are more dedicated than ever to becoming independent from the USSR. Lithuanian citizens up until this point have worked long and hard to challenge Soviet rule, and it appears as though obtaining their goal may be on the horizon - but not without some challenges.

    Background Guide

    Contact: lithuania@browncrisis.org

  • Algeciras Conference

    The Algeciras Conference was called at the request of Sultan Abdelaziz of Morocco in order to resolve the First Moroccan Crisis, which would shake the European diplomatic world in 1905.

    Background Guide

    Contact: algeciras@browncrisis.org

  • Arctic Council, 2019

    Changing climate patterns and melting ice in the Arctic have made natural resources increasingly exploitable. Many nations, motivated by economic interests but often impeded by territorial disputes, are rapidly increasing their Arctic investments and exploring available opportunities. This economically-incentivized militarization has created regional instability as well as challenges of environmental and indigenous impact. The 11th Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council in 2019 will explore these interconnected questions of security and sustainability.

    Background Guide

    Contact: arctic@browncrisis.org

  • Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute

    The Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC) was adopted on 17 July 1998 by 160 countries, gathered together in the United Nations (UN) Diplomatic Conference of Plenipotentiaries on the Establishment of an International Criminal Court. In the words of Kofi Annan, then Secretary-General of the UN, the Rome Statute was written in “the fervent hope that human rights and fundamental freedoms may be extended to all the peoples of the United Nations.

    Background Guide

    Contact: rome_statute@browncrisis.org